Greetings

Back in the day, many moons ago, we lived in a big old house with plenty of odd shaped rooms and nooks’n’crannies. The closet in my brother’s room had a door within it that led into a different bedroom. The long dark hallway outside of the living room led to a big wooden door that took you into the kitchen. The “walk in closet” in the room I shared with my sister did not appear to be a walk in until you actually pushed past what looked like a normal bar to hang your clothes on and then lo, like Narnia, tons of space appeared. And it was in this house that I first stumbled upon my mum’s stash.

Tucked away, in the little wooden drawer of the side table next to the bed in the master bedroom, I found an inconspicuous brown paper bag. Intrigued, I peeked inside and that’s when it all began for me. I would sneak what I needed from her squirreled away stash whenever the need arose. I felt bad occasionally but it didn’t stop me. You could visibly tell the stockpile was shrinking but that too, didn’t stop me. I knew she had spent her hard earned money but again, didn’t stop me.

Greeting cards.

My mum was a greeting card hoarder. She likely still is based on the number of cards we get in the mail for just about every occasion under the sun. And I love it.

I have always prided myself on remembering birthdays. I will sometimes slip up and be a few days late but for the most part, I am on the ball with card sending. There was a brief moment in time where I tried to embrace technology and send e-cards and things of the like but it just didn’t feel right. You can’t sit your phone or laptop on the mantle and display the sentiment for all to see. It just wasn’t the same.

So I went back to the tried and true. Snail mail. No matter what technology is raging hot at any given moment, or how many million ways that tech can improve your personal efficiencies, writing a note on a lovingly chosen card, popping it in the mail and knowing someone has something to open on their special day beats all.

I have even taken to sending out cards of appreciation to people who are important to me, just to let them know it. In today’s day and age, the only mail we seem to get is bills, bills, bills….and flyers. So imagine, after sifting through all of the money you owe for the month and tossing all of the weekly advertisements, you stumble upon a simple little envelope with your name written across it. In handwriting!

In my efforts to bring simple joys and remove anything overly complicated and unnecessary from my life, I have promised myself that I will mail a card for every birthday on my list and not fall back to an e-card, even if I’m a bit late. I have promised myself to send reminders to those I love, reminders of how much I appreciate them, what I value about them, why they are special to me, all wrapped up in a beautifully written card with my own words to compliment the commercially fabricated ones.

I am about to update my simple list and transfer the information into my new Greeting Card Planner sheet. Having the dates written down keeps me on track so I don’t miss a thing.

I know how it feels to open an envelope and place that card on the mantle alongside others.

It feels like love.

 

How do you communicate with your friends and family when occasions roll around? Are you a die-hard card sender? A belated card sender? A Facebook greetings giver? E-cards your thing?

Leave a comment (up near the top of this post) and let me know your tricks and tips to remembering all of the important dates in your world!

To download and print your own copy of the most simple way to track the occasions you want to remember, click here -> Greeting Card Planner !

 

 

2 thoughts on “Greetings

  1. Tannis Galbon says:

    I am one of the dwindling few who is lucky enough to have a mailbox at the end of my long country driveway. I am always a little bit excited when I see the flag up on the mailbox – maybe it’ll be good news! Something other than bills…my girlfriend and I had a little letter writing project a few years ago and I was always thrilled to open the mailbox and find an envelope bulging with details of her life, her thoughts, her ambitions and dreams…I love your idea of sending cards – such a simple and tangible way to brighten someone’s day!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This Prairie Girl says:

    A mailbox!! Wow, haven’t had one of those for some time now. Pen pals were one of my favourite things when I was younger…sounds like something that needs to be reintroduced again!

    Keep watch, there just might be a “wanna be a penpal” spot on this site someday!!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

