Duty Calls

OBJECTION!

This girl got called for Jury Duty!

I knew my years of watching Law and Order would come in handy! They’re gonna LOVE ME!

But seriously. I’m a little torn. On one hand I’d love to participate in the judicial process and do my part to ensure guilty people get put away and innocent people do not. But on the other hand, what if it goes on for months? What if one of the other jurors is a total jerk? What if the perp is accused of something so horrid that I can’t ever stop thinking about it? What if we make a mistake?

I’m not sure what exactly gets you excused from the process. I know each lawyer has a set of qualities in mind that they are looking for in a juror and they each have the opportunity to nix a certain amount of potential jurors. Do they want the daughter of a retired city cop/detective/sergeant? I’m thinking one side might.

Do they want a parent? A woman? A woman who works? A woman with opinions? Who knows.

I’m not sure I could sit in that little box and actually keep my mouth shut for that long.

I’m not sure I could sit in that little box and not give away my feelings purely by facial expressions.

I’m not sure I could sit in that little box and not tweet my way through it.

(Does one get in trouble for that? Probably, yes.)

So we’ll see how it goes. I will write and let them know that our morning routine is such that from 4:30 am till 8, I am my daughters sole care provider and her means of transportation to school. I can ask for help with that for a few days but if this ends up being  a prolonged case, I would not want to put that on anyone. I will let them decide if that is a sufficient enough reason to leave me be.

And if not, then I will do my duty and participate in the process.

No further questions, your honour.

jury duty

Has the jury reached a verdict?

 

Have you ever been summoned for jury duty? Did you go? How was your experience? Do share in the comments!

Leave a Reply

